About Us

Sturgis Middle School

Sturgis Middle School, a beautiful multi-story building that sits on 87 picturesque acres, opened its doors to students in 2004 during Rob Olsen’s tenure as Superintendent. Previous to its current location at 1400 E. Lafayette Street, Sturgis Middle School was located in the Central School building located at 107 W. West Street. Central School was built in 1917 for $120,000, and a combination gym and auditorium were added to the school in 1931. Central School, now called Sturgis Central Commons, houses the district’s administration, alternative education, and various early childhood programs.

Sturgis Middle School has had 6 principals since 1973 and their names and years of service are listed below (if you know the name and years of service of a Sturgis Middle School principal prior to 1973, please share that information with us, and we will add it to our historical archives):

Clyde Benson 1973-1979
Thomas Revitte 1979-1990
David Anspaugh 1990-1997
Dan Ryan 1997-1999
Eric Anderson 1999-2015
Lauri Pressly 2015-2018
Chris Gerbers 2019-present